Skip to main content


About Malta:

The Republic of Malta is a small EU member state located in the Mediterranean, near Italy, Tunisia, and Libya. The country encompasses three islands, Malta, Gozo, and Comino, with a total area of 316 square kilometers and a population of 450,000 that is growing, partly due to the strong economy and favorable climate.


Malta’s central location in the Mediterranean made it a desirable naval base for various powers over the years, including the Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Moors, Normans, Sicilians, Spanish, Knights of St. John, French, and British. The earliest settlements in Malta date back to 5200 BCE, with strong Italian influences in its history, language, art, culture, cuisine, and lifestyle.


Malta has a Mediterranean climate, with mild winters and warm to hot summers, and most rainfall occurs in the autumn and winter. Malta is considered to have the best climate in the world.


Maltese culture has strong Italian roots, with some British and Arabic influences, and the Maltese are known for being friendly and fluent in English and Italian, in addition to their native Maltese language.

Time Zone:

Malta is in the Central European Time Zone, 1 hour ahead of GMT, and observes Daylight-Saving Time, with local time shifted forward by 1 hour during the summer. During this time, Malta is 2 hours ahead of GMT.